New York and Los Angeles – The Writers Guild of America, East (WGAE) and the Writers Guild of America, West (WGAW) have announced nominations for outstanding achievement in writing for the screen during the 2008 season. Winners will be honored at the 2009 Writers Guild Awards held on Saturday, February 7, 2009, at simultaneous ceremonies in New York and Los Angeles.


Burn After Reading

Written by Joel Coen & Ethan Coen, Focus Features


Written by Dustin Lance Black, Focus Features

Vicky Cristina Barcelona

Written by Woody Allen, The Weinstein Company

The Visitor

Written by Tom McCarthy,Overture Films

The Wrestler

Written by Robert Siegel,

Fox Searchlight Pictures---


The Curious Case of Benjamin Button

Screenplay by Eric Roth, Screen Story by Eric Roth and Robin Swicord

Based on the Short Story by F Scott Fitzgerald, Paramount Pictures

and Warner Bros Pictures

The Dark Knight

Screenplay by Jonathan Nolan and Christopher Nolan, Story by Christopher Nolan & David S. Goyer, Based on Characters Appearing in Comic Books Published by DC Comics Batman Created by Bob Kane, Warner Bros Pictures


Screenplay by John Patrick Shanley

Based on his Stage Play, Miramax Films


Screenplay by Peter Morgan

Based on his Stage Play,Universal Pictures

Slumdog Millionaire

Screenplay by Simon Beaufoy

Based on the Novel Q and A by Vikas Swarup,Fox Searchlight Pictures---


Boogie Man: The Lee Atwater Story

Written by Stefan Forbes and Noland Walker, InterPositive Media

Chicago 10

Written by Brett Morgen, Roadside Attractions


Written by Johnny O'Hara,Greenlight Theatrical / Intention

Media Gonzo: The Life and Work of Dr. Hunter S. Thompson

Screenplay by Alex Gibney, From the Words of Hunter S. Thompson, Magnolia Pictures

Waltz with Bashir

Written by Ari Folman

Sony Pictures Classics---

Feature films eligible for a Writers Guild Award were released in the year 2008 and produced under the jurisdiction of Writers Guilds of America, East and West or affiliate guilds in Australia, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, and New Zealand. There were 255 films eligible for nomination in the categories of Original Screenplay (155) and Adapted Screenplay (100). Documentaries eligible for a Writers Guild Award featured an on-screen writing credit and were exhibited theatrically in Los Angeles or New York for one week in 2008. While the credited writers of these documentaries were required to join the WGAE Nonfiction Writers Caucus or WGAW’s Nonfiction Writers Caucus or in order to be considered, scripts need not have been written under WGA jurisdiction to be considered. The 2009 Writers Guild Awards will be held on Saturday, February 7, 2009, at simultaneous ceremonies at the Hudson Theatre at the Millennium Broadway Hotel in New York City and the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza Hotel in Los Angeles.